117 Project – Love Oakland

May 21, 2017

Family and Friends,                                                                                                             May 2017

As many of you know, I am wrapping up my last few weeks as the Resident Director of Hotchkiss Hall at The Master’s University. It has been an amazing 13 years of life-on-life discipleship and mentoring of college students (pictured below).  I am grateful for the opportunities I had to grow and learn from this season of my life.  While it is bitter to leave, it is sweet what the Lord has in store for my future (Lord willing).

LOVE L.A.

As many of you remember, last summer I was a part of Love L.A. working with a church in South Central Los Angeles giving oversight to a Summer Kids’ Camp. It was an AMAZING experience to go back to the hood, work with the staff (pictured below), train interns from suburban churches to love and care for inner city children but people in general.

TRANSITION AND JUMPING IN

This summer and into the next few years, I have opportunity to help manifest the same ministry again. EV Free Cornerstone South L.A. (the church we worked with that gave oversight to Love L.A.) dissolved in November which gave Andrae Robinson, (my friend and the pastor of Cornerstone and now) Executive Director of 117 Project, the opportunity to move to Northern California to carry out this same vision found in Isaiah 1:17 which says, Learn to do good; seek justice, correct oppression; bring justice to the fatherless, plead the widow’s cause. This gave birth to the 117 Project. The 117 Project is a non-profit organization whose mission is to 1.) Come alongside existing inner city churches, to run SUMMER KIDS’ CAMP that is committed to declare and demonstrate the gospel to their community 2.) To mobilize the suburban church towards opportunities to serve inner city communities through existing inner city churches.  

MY ROLES AND GOALS:

I have two main goals this summer into the next chapter of my life:

1.) I want to move toward the117 Project ministry – Check out our website: www.oneseventeenproject.org Our main ministry is setting up and running Summer Kids’ Camps (much like VBS) for 4 weeks for an existing inner city church that is in need of help to reach their community in tangible ways. I will function as the Camp Crew Director which will give oversight to giving spiritual/team care to staff and interns (aka Crew 117), leading bible studies, mentoring interns, church group host, leadership development of interns, administrative oversight and direction.

2.) I desire to move towards starting a real estate career as a realtor (or broker) to build a business so that the 117 Project is cared for and eventually funded.

PARTNER WITH ME

With my transition out of the dorm happening at the end of May, I am trying to move out of my apartment (from the dorm) into a new place in Santa Clarita/Newhall, California. I am also helping launch Love Hutch (Hutchinson, Kansas, with a young man I mentor, Josh Goertzen through his church, Grace Bible Church of Hutchinson for a week) and then launch the 117 Project with Love Oakland (June 5th–July 28th). I would love for you to partner with me, through prayer and financial support.

Would you please partner with me for the summer or the next year? Below are three options I am asking you to prayerfully consider:

  1. 1 month recurring giving of $100 for the summer (June-July) into 1 year or just the summer.
  2. Bi-weekly giving of $50 for the summer only or the summer into 1 year
  3. Monthly giving of any amount you’re able to give (any financial support is great, for 1 year). Any one time giving or recurring giving would be greatly appreciated. No binding contract or commitment is necessary. I really would leave that open to you. Please though, I would love to have you be a part of this with me.

The finances will help provide for me this summer with Love Oakland ($5000 total) and transitioning into the next few months and next year. Here’s how your contribution will be used especially this summer:

$2800 for:

  • Love Oakland: camp room and board (5 weeks), transportation to Oakland
  • A trip to Costa Rica a week partnering with a local church, Casa vida Church in Playa Azul at Camp Casa vida running a Kids’ camp

$738 for:

  • 3 round trip airplane tickets back to Santa Clarita ($246 round trip for each flight)
  • this will allow me to fly back during the following weekends June 18, June 25 and July 16 to lead worship at my church (EV Free Church of the Canyons) & to keep them updated about the ministry in Oakland with 117.

The remaining funds, $1462 will:

  • Help with transition expenses (moving, rent for June & July – at some point during a weekend I will need to move out of my apartment into my new place in Newhall, California). By August I hope to finish up my studies and take my real estate exam in September.

CLICK OR CHECK OR TEXT

  • If you would like to partner with me, financially, and donate online, here is my personal link to my 117 Project account: 117project.org/siona/ 

Or if you’d like to make a donation via check:

  •  Make checks payable to: Cornerstone South L.A. and mail to:

c/o 117 Project – Savini

77 Solano Square #196

Benicia, CA 94510

  • Another option is to TEXT MESSAGE: 117Project to 41444

LIFE AFTER LOVE OAKLAND/COSTA RICA

I plan to commit to live in Santa Clarita and commit to my local church at EV Free Church of the Canyons for the next two years, while maintaining connections with 117 Project, helping build that organization for immediate and future opportunities in inner city (conferences, summer kids camps, travel for meetings) as well as begin my real estate endeavor.

PRAYER

Finally, please pray for my transition. 13 years is a long time and I have poured myself out into living with and mentoring hundreds of college men. 1.) Pray I leave Master’s (Hotchkiss) with thankfulness 2.) Pray I am ready for the 117 Project (spiritually, physically and financially). 3.) Pray I study hard and do well on the real estate exam in the fall. God is faithful and I know He will provide!

 STAYING CONNECTED

I will give a weekly update via e-mail and social media (Instagram & Twitter: chiefsavini, of course Facebook) or via this resurrected blog (it has been years since I’ve blogged) to keep you informed about what God is doing and how I am doing this summer!

Respectfully,

Leave a Reply

